Getting ahead of myself

I’m ignoring the fact that I’m leaving France in a matter of days (only if someone makes me) and, hey, I’m even ignoring the many tests and oral presentations awaiting my dedicated attention in the next few days. Instead, I have begun preparing my summer reading list. How I am going to complete this while working two jobs, I have no idea. It’s a good thing many of my real-life friends aren’t going to be in town this summer, leaving me plenty of time to hang with my fictional friends. Now, without further ado:

Hannah’s Reading List: Summer 2011 (in no particular order)

American Psycho by Bret Easton Ellis

A Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

Deliverance by James Dickey

The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoyevsky (we’ll see how long that lasts…)

The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien (how I have not read this yet is a mystery)

A Sport and a Pastime by James Salter

Time’s Arrow by Martin Amis

Winter’s Bone by Daniel Woodrell

Legends of the Fall by Jim Harrison

Tropic of Cancer by Henry Miller

Plainsong by Kent Haruf

Winter’s Tale by Mark Helprin

The Spy Who Came in from the Cold by John le Carré

Winesburg, Ohio by Sherwood Anderson (and not just because of Pretty Little Liars!)

The Dharma Bums by Jack Kerouac (I thought I had grown out of my beatnik phase a few years back, but I guess not.)

Update:

People are Unappealing: Even Me by Sara Barron

Bossypants by Tina Fey (thanks Sprinks!)

A Visit From the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan

Freedom by Jonathan Franzen

Also, I realize that my list is sorely lacking female authors, so if anyone has any suggestions by some ladies, I would be grateful.

One Response

  1. Bossypants. Read Bossypants. By Tina Fey. It was hilarious. I highly recommend it. I might’ve (probably) told you this already, though. I’m purchasing a copy soon, and you will borrow it when I am done.

    Also, should we just start a BVFAC book club?

Leave a Reply

