How is it May already?

Hi friends. Sorry it’s been awhile but it’s been a crazy few weeks over here. Today marks my halfway point for my European adventure. It doesn’t seem like I’ve been here that long, but at the same time it feels like I should be much closer to the end. I’m not particularly excited about leaving France, but I am excited to get back home. I miss my friends and my room and my mom. And my dog, can’t forget about my dog.

Best dog ever.

This week is Week 6 of classes already and I know the rest of my time here is going to fly by, especially because of all of the things that are being packed into my remaining time. I have:

  • 3 more excursions with my program
  • my dad coming to visit
  • Rome with my dad and sister
  • Turkey to visit my cousin (still in planning stages)

With nearly all of my weekends taken up with those adventures my time left in Avignon is certainly going to go quickly. That’s what’s coming up, but let’s take a look at what has happened so far, shall we?

I went to Paris for four days over Easter weekend with some of my fellow Bobcats. It was a really great time and we were able to cram a lot of touristy visits into so short a time in the city. It was an amazing experience to just be running around Paris with 5 other American girls doing whatever we wanted. I absolutely loved my time there and I can’t wait to go back.

Me, the Eiffel Tower, and some child. Not mine.

Things I learned in Paris:

  • Personal space is nonexistent on metros or at any tourist destination
  • Speaking French earns you brownie points
  • I need lots of sleep and a good meal between arriving somewhere and beginning to sight-see
  • Free public restrooms are a privilege, not a right
  • Rosé champagne is delicious, but it will stain your white hotel towels pink
  • Not even the Eiffel Tower can change my fear of heights
  • I love Paris

Overall, a successful trip. If you want to see pictures, you can check out my Facebook album here.

So, back in Avignon school has become a real thing. I have had tests and papers and homework and it’s really getting in the way of my French adventure. But school is why I’m here in the first place, so I’ve been trying to dedicate some time to my studies. I’ll admit, I haven’t been trying too hard, but I’m working on it.

When I returned from Paris I got a surprise host brother. He’s the son of my host parents and was living abroad when I arrived here in Avignon, but now he’s back. He’s a year younger than me and very funny. It’s a bit awkward though because I live in his room, so I don’t actually know where he sleeps/where all of his things are. I’m sure my family explained it to me at some point, but I just smile and nod and pretend like I understand what’s happening most of the time instead of asking for clarification.

In honor of Fest Season in Athens, our study abroad group had our own Fest this past Thursday. We called it Island Fest since it was on the island where we have our weekly picnics. Island Fest was very successful and we just beat the rain that hit Avignon Thursday night. It was a lot of fun to hang out with everyone outside of class and just have a good time. Plus, I attempted to learn “Wagon Wheel” on guitar, so it was a productive Fest as well.

And just a little mental image to leave you with, I sang karaoke at a bar this weekend. “Take it Easy” by The Eagles, in case you were wondering.

And if you just can’t get enough updates on France, follow me on Twitter and on Tumblr. Because apparently I just can’t get enough social media.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

