Forget your troubles, come on get happy

By the frequency of posts I’ve made lately you would think that nothing substantial has happened in my life recently. The trouble is not that I haven’t had anything to write about, it’s that I find it difficult to convey anything in written form these days. There was the infamous Halloween extravaganza, I applied for study abroad, my friends and I have done crazy things, and yet I have not written about any of it.

I don’t want to blame anything in particular for this shift, because for all I know I’m just having a massive case of writer’s block. But ever since I started using anti-depressants about a month ago the desire to write has emptied right out of me. Even if the mood does strike, anything I come up with is just absolute crap. I used to feel like the words had a direct flow from my brain to my fingertips with everything I was thinking pouring out onto the keyboard for anyone to read. Not so much recently. It is physically difficult to come up with anything to say anymore. Who knew that loss of interest was a side effect of the meds, not just the depression?

I am doing really well though. I have more good days than bad, my apathy is waning, and my general happiness has improved. The meds are a good thing. It’s just that I can’t write, which is a bit of a problem as I am a journalism major.

Have a few songs.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a comment