“You’re in it right now, aren’t you?”

I should be studying, or sleeping, but I am watching Garden State instead.

Andrew: You know that point in your life when you realize the house you grew up in isn’t really your home anymore? All of a sudden even though you have some place where you put your shit, that idea of home is gone.

Sam: I still feel at home in my house.

Andrew: You’ll see one day when you move out it just sort of happens one day and it’s gone. You feel like you can never get it back. It’s like you feel homesick for a place that doesn’t even exist.

I have felt this way since the first time I came home from school for the weekend. It is a very unsettling feeling, especially since my parents split. It’s like, even when I go home, it’s not really home. It’s like I want to go home to a different time entirely, not just a place. It’s a home that doesn’t exist anymore.

One Response

  1. […] however, having two homes, she seems to be stuck in some sort of hobo-limbo. But she can really explain it better than I […]

Leave a Reply

